Transefer function

May 17 at 3:28 PM
Hi guys,
I've got a little problem with apllying transfer fuction. I need to take data from .wav file and make convolution with transfer function and play this sound in real time. Thank you for advices. I'm new to NAudio.
May 17 at 4:04 PM
Hi, this is not a trivial task. For realtime processing you can´t process the data in the time domain, which would be simple coding (using the class "ImpulseResponseConvolution"). The only approach is complex and demands a lot of knowledge: you need to transform the data in the frequency domain, process it and transform it back. For transformation the "FastFourierTransform" (FFT) or "ShortTermFourierTransform" (STFT) is commonly used. Unfortunately, there is no implementation available in NAudio, but good luck (and pls provide if you can deploy it).
May 17 at 4:30 PM
Edited May 17 at 4:31 PM
Thanks,I thought, I could just fit my input data from wav file to transfer function...
May 17 at 6:56 PM
I recommend to look at the FastFouriertransformation class and the sampleaggregator class for a start.
May 24 at 12:53 PM
Hello, so I tried to do FFT with use of SampleAggregator.cs, but I'm not shure, if I realy understand class SampleAggregator - Is that instance, witch take samples from my wave file (or any input), and apply FFT algorythm for every single sample of my wave file - this is the method Add in this class -right? And length of FFT means, how large is step between couted frequencies in spectrum? For example if is frequency of my point[n] = 100Hz, frequency of point[n+1] is my sample rate/ FFT length, so if I've got sample rate 44100 and FFT length 1024, point[n+1] = point[n]+(44100/1024), so if my point[n] is 100 my point[n+1]= 143,066.... ??? I'm right or absolutly dumb...?? :-D
Thanks for answer.
May 24 at 6:43 PM
Edited May 24 at 6:47 PM
I´m not deep into the the maths, but what I know so far is:

Each bin of the FFT result is equally spaced in the frequency spectrum.