This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Playing MP3 file fails silently

Oct 4, 2016 at 1:56 PM
Hi all, I am new to NAudio so I apologize in advance for my ignorance. I was testing around just getting an MP3 file to play and I am having a difficult time.

Here is my code:

using NAudio.Wave;
namespace ConsoleApplication2
{
class Program
{
    static void Main(string[] args)
    {
        WaveOutEvent waveOut = new WaveOutEvent();
        WaveStream mp3Reader = new Mp3FileReader("e:\\wonka.mp3");
        waveOut.Init(mp3Reader);
        waveOut.Play();
        mp3Reader.Dispose();
        waveOut.Dispose();
    }
}
}

So when I run that code nothing happens at all but I notice for a split second in the volume mixer the application appears as if it is starting to do something and then it vanishes. I have verified that I can play the file e:\wonka.mp3 in a lot of other ways.

I also had one other question while I am here. Is it possible to pass an audio "file" directly to NAudio from a byte[] rather than writing it to disk first and then passing it to the reader?
Coordinator
Oct 4, 2016 at 2:02 PM
The Play method just begins playback - it doesn't block until playback stops. So you must pause now until you want to stop or until the PlaybackStopped event is fired.
A simple solution for your app could be to sleep in a loop waiting for the PlaybackState to get set to Stopped.
And Mp3FileReader has a constructor that takes a stream so you could pass in a MemoryStream based on your byte array
Oct 4, 2016 at 2:10 PM
Is there an async/background way to play the file? Once I get this working in a "basic" way I am going to use NAudio in a WPF application and I can't pause or loop until the file is done playing. Sorry if I misunderstand.
Coordinator
Oct 4, 2016 at 2:40 PM