This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Sound detection

Feb 18, 2010 at 5:14 AM

Hi,

I have used the example (here) in my program, and its working great.

However, I would like to implement a "record on sound detected" function.

So is there any way to get the amplitude or threshold of the sound, as I want to "record" the sound only if it is over a certain limit? 

Need some guidance, as I am new to the sound stuff.

Editor
Feb 18, 2010 at 8:24 PM

Hi Becoz,

You will need to monitor what is happening through the source that you want to record until you find the event in the audio stream which will trigger your recording. So if you are looking to record audio data (from here on in I will refer to this as saving the audio data, it's an important distinction) you will still need to capture (aka record) the data from the audio stream, check if the event has occurred (the volume level on the stream coming in) and then decide if you want to save the data. If you don't want to save the data then you trow it away and check the next block.

Think of it like recording a concert. Your going to still be listing to the concert and the concert is still going to be playing even if your not recording (i.e. saving) the data that you hear. So effectively what you want to do is not to stop recording the data but to stop saving it until an event you are looking for occurs.

To answer the part about the event, being the level of the volume, look at the sample code provided in the application with NAudio, there is a peak meter there which you could reuse the code from to help you identify when a peak level has been reached.

~DSebJ

Feb 19, 2010 at 7:44 AM
Edited Feb 19, 2010 at 7:45 AM

Hi DSebJ,

I have devised an alternative solution after referencing some of the code samples from Coding4Fun.com. Below is the method that I will call before saving. If the method returns true, it means that it is over thethreshold limit.