This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

DataChunk header in wrong position

Jun 22, 2015 at 7:12 PM
I am quite new at using naudio and I am following an example provided I found on this site to trim wav files. I am using the example along with my own code to determine the lengths of wave files and trimming them to be at a length that I can use.

The program works great, it trims them perfectly everytime, exactly how I need them except for the datachunk. It is always 2 positions forward. Looking at my wav file in HxD, my original wav file datachunk is in position 37-40.

After I trim the file the datachunk is in position 39-42. This causes a problem in the other program I an using to look at the files. I have tried opening in Audacity and exporting and the datachunk position gets corrected, not sure why but it does. I have also altered the position in HxD and that works too but I would rather not have to go through all of the extra steps if I do not have to.
As I am new to naudio I am unsure if I am doing something wrong (Very possible) and I have looked for similar problems for a few days now and cannot find a single solution.

Here is the code I found through this site. The rest of my code just determines the amount that I need to trim based on the lot of files I am altering. I just read a wave file, trim and store in a different folder.

any help would be greatly appreciated, if you need any more information please let me know and I will provide what I am able to.
 public static void TrimWavFile(string inPath, string outPath, TimeSpan cutFromStart, TimeSpan cutFromEnd)
        {
            using (WaveFileReader reader = new WaveFileReader(inPath))
            {
                using (WaveFileWriter writer = new WaveFileWriter(outPath, reader.WaveFormat))
                {
                    int bytesPerMillisecond = reader.WaveFormat.AverageBytesPerSecond / 1000;