This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

DataAvailable not firing,

Feb 1, 2015 at 1:27 PM
Edited Feb 1, 2015 at 1:28 PM
Hi, I'm new to NAudio. I've added the following code to an application of mine, but the DataAvailable event handler never fires, so I'm not able to capture any recording. I just get a broken wave file. Can anyone tell me where I'm going wrong here?

All help is appreciated.
        public static WaveIn waveIn;
        public static WaveFileWriter waveFile;
        public static void AudioStart()
        {
                    waveIn = new WaveIn();
                    waveFile = null;
                    waveIn.WaveFormat = new WaveFormat(8000, 8, 1);
                    waveIn.DataAvailable += new EventHandler<WaveInEventArgs>(waveIn_DataAvailable);
                    waveIn.RecordingStopped += new EventHandler<StoppedEventArgs>(waveIn_RecordingStopped);

waveFile = new WaveFileWriter(@"C:\WPF8Data\test\temp.wav", waveIn.WaveFormat);
                    waveIn.StartRecording();

//I've been using breakpoints to pause between start and stop

waveIn.StopRecording()
        }

static void waveIn_RecordingStopped(object sender, StoppedEventArgs e)
        {
            if (waveIn != null)
            {
                waveIn.Dispose();
                waveIn = null;
            }

if (waveFile != null)
            {
                waveFile.Dispose();
                waveFile = null;
            }
        }

static void waveIn_DataAvailable(object sender, WaveInEventArgs e)
        {
            if (waveFile != null)
            {
                waveFile.Write(e.Buffer, 0, e.BytesRecorded);
                waveFile.Flush();
            }
        }
Coordinator
Feb 1, 2015 at 1:28 PM
Most likely you are in a console application, or simply not on a GUI thread. Try WaveInEvent instead, which makes a separate thread for reading audio.
Feb 1, 2015 at 1:36 PM
Edited Feb 1, 2015 at 1:41 PM