This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

How to perform simultaneous playback and recording using NAudio?

Jan 5, 2015 at 6:03 PM
Dear NAudio community,

I'm a novice when in comes to computer audio, and have not worked with NAudio before, but it looks like it might be a fit for an application I need to develop. I'm hoping that the community can offer some help.

The key is simultaneously playing back some predefined tone through an output on the card and recording from an input to the card. Some type of high-quality 24-bit 48 kHz or better sound card would perform the following:
  1. Create some number of seconds of a test waveform. For example, a 200 Hz sine wave at 600 Volts RMS that runs for 1 second. (I understand that the output level would need to be measured/calibrated, and is only going to provide some % of whatever full scale is).
  2. Play that waveform to one (or both) channels of a sound card (selectable before the test is run).
  3. After some short amount of settling delay (programmable in milliseconds), record from one (or both) inputs of a sound card.
  4. Note that the recording needs to be going on while the playback is still occurring.
  5. Save the recorded data and pass it to something external (like a MATLAB program) for further analysis, and/or do other mathematical manipulations of the playback and recorded data, such as taking a ratio, multiplying by a scaling factor, etc.
  6. The GUI needs to be "easy to use", streamlined, slick, and modern, and using Visual Studio with C# is a likely approach.
The MATLAB portion and other math manipulations aren't the worrisome part for me. I’m trying to find a way to simultaneously play back a signal and record a response on the same sound card.

How can simultaneous playback and recording using the same sound card be done in NAudio? Can you point me to any specific examples for reference?