input stream to buffer

Feb 19, 2009 at 11:11 AM
Hi,

Im a newbie trying to program an application that has to get the audio from the microphone and send it to the a camera.

I read your example code to get the audio from the microphone but i still have many doubts, i also look for an API but i dont know where it is.

1. How can i get the number of devices i have connected to my pc? i look in "coreAudioApi" but i didnt found anything.
2. I get the audio with an event but i dont wanna save it in a file but i want to save it in a stream. How can i set the "WaveBuffer" to do that? is it possible to use a streamWriter instead?

Sorry if my questions sound too obvious.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Coordinator
Feb 24, 2009 at 10:33 AM
Hi,

What you want to do is certainly possible (although I am not sure what you mean by sending it to a camera). If you download the latest NAudio code from the Source Code tab, you will be able to use the WaveIn class to capture audio through the default input device, and the WaveFileWriter is able to write to a stream (you could use a MemoryStream for example). As for getting the number of WaveIn devices, I realised that I had not exposed this as a property, so I have now checked in a new version of WaveIn that lets you get the device count.

Mark
Feb 24, 2009 at 5:46 PM
Edited Feb 26, 2009 at 4:06 PM
Hi Mark,

Thanks for your answer, i tried but i have some problems:

I declared a memorystream with the sample information and then convert the stream to alaw,

Dim s As New MemoryStream(e.Buffer)
Dim a As New Wave.WaveFormatConversionStream(Wave.WaveFormat.CreateALawFormat(8000, 1), s)

1. But vb.net doesnt let me set a memoryStream instead of a NAudio.Wave.WaveStream. How can i do it?
2. Is there any other way of convert to alaw without setting the waveSample and the channels?

Best regards

Feb 26, 2009 at 4:03 PM
Edited Feb 26, 2009 at 4:06 PM
Hi again,

I continued developing but i couldnt convert to alaw.  I tried:

Dim