This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Create WAV from G.726 (IMA-?)ADPCM byte stream

Sep 26, 2012 at 9:43 PM

Hi,

I have a g.726-32 audio stream (from RTP) which I would like to save out as a WAV file. I am pretty new to working with Audio and could do with a few pointers (and I suppose being told if nAudio supports what I am trying to do).

Am i right in thinking the audio (speech from asterisk in g.726 format from an RTP stream) is IMA-ADPMC?

Can nAudio handle this format of data?

And lastly, can i use nAudio to write out a wav file that windows can play?

Any help is greatly apreciated, and thank you in advance!

Ben

Sep 27, 2012 at 1:00 PM

OK, just to show I am looking into this myself also :)

I've installed the Sharp g.726 Codec, however I am not seeing it listed in the ACM Codec list in the nAudio demo application. I see the Microsoft PCM/ADPCM/IMA-ADPCM codecs, but not the Sharp g.726. Any reason anyone could think this might be?

Cheers,

Ben

Sep 27, 2012 at 1:41 PM

you may need to run as a 32 bit process if you are on 64 bit windows, as most ACM codecs are 32 bit and won't show up to a 64 bit process

Sep 27, 2012 at 2:59 PM

Cheers Mark,

I can see the Sharp g.726 codec now. So here's the main question, can anyone give me some pointers on where to start on converting a g.726 stream to (this may sound like i have poor understanding) "a simple" wav file? Or even an MP3!

Which general pattern do i follow? I had a quick look at the MP3 to wave example, and understand it takes a stream (from the Mp3FileReader)  and writes out a stream in a given format using the WaveFileWriter.

How do I apply this to a realtime process, i.e. I get bytes([]) from an RTP stream and want to write them out to the disk in a format that's more universal.

Thansk again for any help!

Cheers,

Ben

Sep 27, 2012 at 3:05 PM